SUSAN

by Deborah Brooks Langford on Monday, October 31, 2011 at 3:16pm

SUSAN

 

Susan Joyner-Stumpf

I asked the Lord for a friend

I asked Him for I dare

And she came into my life

As a sister so sweetly that made me care…

 

If only my friend knew how special, she really is

Just to know her has been a blessing

Has made my life a joy that fulfills all that is emptiness

And made me laugh and help me cry;

 

Although I have never seen her face

I know she was sent to this woman

At just the right time in my life

As the special friend she is;

 

Her writing is the magic of all that can become

Words that write on my heart

To let this woman know

That’s its all right to make a mistake

To try and try again;

 

In the early light so new

As we seek the face of our Lord

We drink the sweet right

The friendship that we share

Is the sister that I want.

The sister I dare have

Her beauty succeeds all she does

Her loveliness so bare;

 

I know I have been so blessed

To have shared

The love of this friend

And as I realized

That in my wildest dreams

I never knew a friend like

Her…that transformed the life of this friend to such a joy…

And whisper thanks to transfigure into beauty

My dear sister and special friend

SUSAN.

©Copyright 2011  by  POET DEBORAH BROOKS- LANGFORD

5 thoughts on “SUSAN

  1. drtruthman says:

    Beautiful poem about Christian friendship by Deborah Brooks-Langford

  2. Deborah thank you so much for this very special Poem. You are the greatest!!! ~ Susan Joyner-Stumpf

  3. Gladys says:

    Very beautiful friendship!

Leave a Reply

